Directions to Lexington, Virginia
VMI Post Map 
facebook   twitter  Flicker FORA TV

Mrs. Ronda Dove
Administrative Assistant

P:  (540) 464-7361
F: (540) 464-7396

Center for Leadership & Ethics
VMI, Marshall Hall
500 Anderson Drive
Lexington, VA  24450

4th Annual Commonwealth of Virginia Energy Symposium (COVES)

Speaker presentations are now linked for keynote speakers and session presenters.
In some cases, a speaker spoke from notes only and some are not able to make the presentation public. These are noted by an NA.

Plenary Session Speakers

Plenary Session Hosts

  • BG Charles F. Brower, IV, Director, VMI Center for Leadership and Ethics
  • Stephen A. Walz, Director, Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
  • The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple, Member, Senate of Virginia
  • Jerry W. Giles, Director of Finance & Leader-Science and Research Team, Virginia Economic Development Partnership

Concurrent Session Presenters

  • Cynthia Adams, Climate Protection Coordinator, City of Charlottesville
  • Emil Avram, Business Development Group, Dominion Resources Services, Inc.
  • Kent Baake, Continuum Energy Solutions, Alexandria
  • Chris Bachman, Director, Alternatives Fuels Lab, James Madison University
  • Kevin Baird, Plant Manager Roanoke Cement
  • Glen Besa, Director, Sierra Club – Virginia Chapter (NA)
  • Richard Bratcher, Longwood University
  • Al Christopher; Director; Division of Energy; Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
  • Patrick Collignon, Vice President and General Manager of New River Valley Plant, VOLVO Trucks
  • Mark Crowdis, CEO, Think Energy, Inc.
  • Larry Dickerman, Vice President of T&D Smart Grid Integration, KEMA
  • Mary Doswell, Senior Vice President, Alternative Energy Solutions, Dominion Resources Services, Inc.
  • Bill Dunnington, Managing Director, Virginia Energy Project
  • Matthew Ferguson, Principal, Reznick Group (invited)
  • Karen Forsten Power Delivery and Utilization, EPRI
  • Richard Good, President, Solar Services, Virginia Beach
  • George Hagerman, Senior Research Associate, Virginia Tech Advanced Research Institute
  • Jeremy Holmes, Roanoke-Allegheny Regional Commission
  • Jerry W. Giles, Director, Business Development Group, Virginia Economic Development Partnership (NA)
  • Tom Inge, Ward Burton Foundation
  • Ken Jurman, Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
  • Chris Lindsey, Antares
  • Ann Loomis, Director, Federal Public Policy, Dominion Resources
  • Timothy Mallan, Appalachian Power
  • Mark McClain, Roanoke Valley Cool Cities Coalition
  • John Mark Neal, Planning Supervisor, Distribution Asset Planning, American Electric Power Company
  • Mike Oldak, Senior Director State Competitive & Regulatory Policies, Edison Electric Institute
  • Brandon Ogilvie, Intrinergy, Inc
  • Tom Peterson, President, Center for Climate Strategies
  • Mark A. Pierson, PhD, Nuclear Engineering Program, VA Tech
  • Nino Ripepi, Virginia Center for Coal and Energy Research
  • Jackie Prince Roberts, Climate and Air Programs, Environmental Defense Fund
  • Michael Schewel, McGuireWoods
  • Bradley Schneider, Biomass Gasificiation
  • Ridge Schuyler, District Director, Charlottesville, Congressman Tom Perriello (NA)
  • Howard Spinner, Director, Economics & Finance, Virginia State Corporation Commission
  • Kim O. Stein, AREVA
  • Scott Stone, Hunton & Williams
  • Ben Taube, Executive Director, Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance
  • Erin Trager, Program Specialist, Minerals Management Service’ Alternative Energy Programs Office
  • Ronald B. Via, Senior Vice President, Elster Electricity, LLC
  • Richard Wakefield, Ph.D., Vice President, Power System Planning & Management, KEMA Inc.
  • Richard H. Walden, Director of Advanced metering Infrastructure, Dominion Virginia Power (NA)
  • Stephen A. Walz, Director, Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals & Energy
  • Carol C. Wampler, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
  • H. Kent Ware, Director for Rural Business-Cooperative Programs, USDA Rural Development Virginia
  • Al Weed, Virginia Biomass Energy Working Group (NA)
  • Glenn Weiss, PJM Interconnection
  • Keith Williams, Ph. D, University of Virginia
  • Tom Williamson, Vice President for Marketing, AREVA, Inc.
  • Kevin Witter, Facilities, Planning and Development, Virginia Western Community College
  • Jeffrey Yago, DTI Solar (file unavailable at this time)
  • Marco Zanelli Carraro North America, Virginia Beach
  • Philip Zapfel, Sustainability Fellow, The College of William and Mary

Concurrent Session Moderators

  • Chris Bachman, JMU
  • Bob Bailey, Executive Director, Center for Advanced Engineering and Research
  • Karl Bren, President, GreenVision Consulting
  • Diana Christopulos, Roanoke Valley Cool Cities Coalition
  • Theo J. de Wolff, Principal, Seawind Renewable Energy Corporation
  • Michael G. Dowd, Director, Air Quality Division, Virginia Dept. of Environmental Quality
  • John English, English Boilers
  • Dillon Franks, President, Virginia Biomass Energy Group
  • Lisa E. Friedersdorf, PhD, Research Program Manger, Office of the Vice President for Research, UVa
  • Alleyn Harned, Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Trade, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Laura Jones, Hunton & Williams
  • Scott Klopfer, Virginia Tech
  • Gregg Lewis, Principal, SmithLewis Architecture
  • Annette Osso, Executive Director, Virginia Sustainable Building Network
  • Phil Parrish, Ph. D., Associate Vice President for Research, University of Virginia
  • Capt. Susan Rabern, Deputy Director, VMI Center for Leadership and Ethics
  • Cliona M. Robb, Partner, Christian & Barton, LLC.
  • Tim Ryan, APEX Energy, Charlottesville
  • Tony Watkinson, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
  • Hebert Wheary, Dominion Resources
  • Chris Wise, Environmental Management Coordinator, Washington and Lee University

For full program information, please visit the conference agenda.