Parking Alert - The parades scheduled for Friday afternoon and Saturday Oct. 3, have been canceled due to weather. During football Game Day Saturday, the Parade Ground will be closed to parking. Parking will be on a first-come, first-served, basis on paved areas only. Tailgating will not be allowed on the Parade Ground. For more information, click here.
Cindy Bither
Administrative Assistant
P: (540) 464-7207
F: (540) 464-7443

111 Smith Hall
Lexington, VA 24450

Cadets Inducted into History Honors Society


LEXINGTON, Va., May 22, 2014 - The VMI Department of History held a ceremony April 21 for nine cadets inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society.

Those inducted were Benjamin Clarke ’15, Matthew DeRito ’16, Anthony Gagliardi ’14, Kelly Mackenzie ’15, John McQuade ’14, Ray Montolin ’14, Taylor Rafaly ’15, William Thompson ’14, and James Whippo ’15.

Founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921, Phi Alpha Theta has over 350,000 members and 860 local chapters. Membership is open to undergraduate and graduate students, along with professors of history.