McDowell Scholarship

Through the generosity of Robert L. McDowell, VMI class of 1968 and former member of the VMI Board of Visitors, and his wife, Melissa S. McDowell, the department is proud to offer the Andrew L. McDowell Scholarship in Economics and Business. This scholarship is available to cadets majoring in economics and business. It is based primarily on academic excellence, although other factors such as need, character, extracurricular activities and leadership may be considered. Applications for this scholarship are accepted during the spring semester for awards to be made the following academic year.

Andrew L. McDowell was born in Surrey, England, on 8 November, 1918, as his parents were emigrating from Ireland to Canada.  The family eventually came to the U.S., settling in Albany, N.Y.  Mr. McDowell served in the U.S. Army Air Corps during World War II and after the war married Dorothy L. Sheffield, raising a son and daughter together.  He retired from a career in the metals refining industry in 1966, and spent the last 21 years of his life in the travel industry.  He was extremely well-read, loved history and considered education a lifetime responsibility, graduating from college at the age of 74!  With his son’s entry into VMI as a member of the class of 1968, he became a strong supporter of the Institute.  Mr. McDowell passed away on 2 July, 1997, after living a life focused on a love of God, family and country.  He was truly a person who lived by the words found on the VMI 1968 Class Ring – “Honor Above Self”.

McDowell Scholarship Application

 Scholarship Recipients for 2014-2015 

Mike Coppolino, Travis Hawkins, Wesley Jacobs, Isaac Lewis, Henry Meredith, Renee Reives

Scholarship Recipients for 2013-2014 

Ben Fields, Patrick Hine, Jacob Goult, Wesley Jacobs, Austin Holmes, Townsend Williams, Isaac Lewis, Henry Meredith, Andy Richards

 Scholarship Recipients for 2012-2013 

Michael Casper, Wesley Jacobs, Robert Kantor, Jay Rice, Leah Schubel, Andrew Urop, Ben Waterbury

Scholarship Recipients for 2011-2012 

Tyler Brown, John Clauff, Richard Luck, Michael Shafer, Kippur Taylor, Andrew Yancey

Scholarship Recipients for 2010-2011 

Tyler Brown, Chaz Jones, Kara Noble, Keith O'Donnell, Kippur Taylor

Scholarship Recipients for 2009-2010

Matthew Allen, Jonathan Pope, Keith O'Donnell, Casey Ward, Daniel Welsh, Shawn Wongkachonkitti

Scholarship Recipients for 2008-2009

Chris Johnston, Andrew Krumm, Derrick Leland, Keith O'Donnell, Tyler Romaine, Trevor Stanco

Scholarship Recipients for 2007-2008

Eric Hunter, Chris Beyer, Steven Phillips